Library Policies

As a new user or renewed user, there are a few things you should know about the St. John the Baptist Parish Library and about using the Library. This is a public service provided to the citizens of the parish and supported by their tax dollars in the form of an ad valorem property millage.

Library service was initiated in October 1966, after the Police Jury had agreed to sponsor a demonstration library to be operated for one year by the Louisiana State Library with funds from the Federal Library Services and Construction Act. The demonstration was a success, and voters assured continued library service when they approved a property tax (which requires periodic renewal) for the maintenance and operation of the library as a parish institution.

The library is operated under the policy supervision of a Board of Control whose eight members are appointed by the parish governing authority (the Parish Council) for five-year staggered terms. The Parish President serves as an ex-officio member.

The St. John the Baptist Parish Library system offers service from a central library in LaPlace with branches in Reserve, Edgard and Garyville. Also, a mobile service is available for the home bound and those in institutional environments such as a nursing home or Place du Bourg.