About Us

Library services were initiated in October 1966, after the Police Jury had agreed to sponsor a demonstration library to be operated for one year by the Louisiana State Library with funds from the Federal Library Services and Construction Act. The demonstration was a success, and voters assured continued library service when they approved a property tax (which requires periodic renewal) for the maintenance and operation of the library as a parish institution.

The library is operated under the policy supervision of a Board of Control whose eight members are appointed by the parish governing authority (the Parish Council) for five-year staggered terms. The Parish President serves as an ex-officio member.

The St. John the Baptist Parish Library system offers service from a central library in LaPlace with branches in Reserve, Edgard and Garyville. Also, a mobile service is available for the home bound and those in institutional environments such as a nursing home or Place du Bourg.